ad: l-gcopper
ad: l-sarc
ad: l-innov
ad: l-tentec
ad: l-rl
ad: l-Waters
ad: l-WarrenG

Default Wa2nan - True-talk 102' G5rv Antenna

I have a few questions about the WA2NAN True-Talk 102' G5RV antenna. I have a Kenwood TS-450SAT and am wondering if the radio's built-in antenna tuner will work for this antenna? I would mount it about 40' high as an inverted "V" in a North/South manner. Also, would the steel mast have a bad effect on the antenna? I would like to operate on 80, 40, and 20 meters. Thanks very much!!

Best 73's
    Bob

I can't answer your question about the auto-tuner, as I have no experience with it, but as for the steel mast; no, there should be no adverse effect! Hams and commercial SWBC sites have been using steel masts and towers for antenna supports for years!

In fact, half slopers use the mast as part of the radiating system, and of course, there are always verticals which used the tower AS the radiator !

String it up and enjoy! If your auto-tuner will not match all the frequencies, get an external tuner with additional matching range. You might want to consider getting a balanced tuner and feeding the antenna as a convention balance-fed doublet rather than a "G5RV" design. You will probably find that it works much better that way !

73, Jim

The ladder line needs to be kept a few inches away from the steel mast.

You internal tuner might be able to match the G5RV, and it might not. No way to tell until you try it. The internal tuner on my IC-746Pro matched my G5RV on all bands from 160m to 6m.
    73, Ron KR2D

To answer your question, No. The tuners in tranceivers are to be regarded as trimmers, if an antenna is almost resonant at the frequency you wish to use then the in- built tuner will do it. A G5RV requires an external ATU and very often these will not allow the use of 15 metres and sometimes 10 metres.

G0GQK

Default Then Again