Callsign
Page 1 of 3 1 2 3 LastLast

Thread: HF Whip antenna for a sailing yacht?!

ad: L-HROutlet
ad: l-assoc
ad: l-tentec
ad: l-WarrenG
ad: l-rl
ad: l-Waters
ad: l-innov
ad: l-gcopper

Smile HF Whip antenna for a sailing yacht?!

I am new to HAM and want to operate an IC 706 with AT 180 on my 50' saling sloop.
    What would be the best antenna to warrant long distance reception? Anybody ou there with experience?
    toelpel@teleline.es
    Last edited by KJ4CRY; 05-11-2008 at 07:55 PM. Reason: insert email address

If the mast is aluminum. You might be able to disconnect the ground and feed it there.

The best method would depend on how your sloop is rigged and the material of the masts. At least you won't have to worry about tall buildings or the landscape.

I've heard of insulated stays used as a sloper or inverted V, and they say it works pretty well if done right. You could have different stays tuned for various bands as long as they are sufficiently separated from each other.

If you're rigged as a yawl, the mizzen, with some radials added, could work as a monopole. I've heard that has been done, but never have seen it. That may work for a ketch also, but it may be too close to the main.

edit added. by the way, there is a group or website, or two, or three, for land lubbers and blue-water sailors to get together & set up appointment contacts, for several obvious reasons. i'll ask my sailing-ham friends and get back with you. surely someone on the forum knows how to do this.
    Last edited by K5END; 05-11-2008 at 08:07 PM.
    I don't do Windows.
    73!!!

Arrow Yes, Inverted V

Quote Originally Posted by K5END View Post
    The best method would depend on how your sloop is rigged and the material of the masts. At least you won't have to worry about tall buildings or the landscape.