ad: l-WarrenG
ad: l-gcopper
ad: l-innov
ad: l-Waters
ad: l-tentec
ad: l-rl

Unhappy

Hello Everyone,
    I am fairly new to amateur radio. I only have my license about 3 months. My QTH is on the island of Newfoundland in eastern Canada. I have a question regarding short and long path propagation. I have been listening to many stations and always hear them comment about using the short path in the mornings and long path at other times of day or vice versa. How do you know when to use one path and not the other? I have been using a windom antenna but I am upgrading to a yagi and I am also a DX chaser so I figured this would be of great importance. Can anybody help me out. Thanks!!

Chris

It will bne self-evident once you put up the beam. There are some general conditions from the east coast - 20m LP to VK/ZL and infrequently southern Africa and JA (oposite headings) in the afternoon, Asia and Europe LP in the a.m. I maintained a separate log of all my Lp contacts over the years and found the above to be fairly consistent although masked by simultaneous SP conditions as well such as european openings easily missed. It's always a more interesting way of working DX.

I wouldn't be concerned with the other bands at this point in the solar cycle

Exclamation

Hi Chris & welcome to the wonderful world of HF

don't know how early you get up, but Volker ZS1Y is on
    almost every morning on 20M...around 0700 Mountain time,
    so adjust your time accordingly..

listen around 14.17-14.25 or so....

because of his QTH location, with a large hill between
    his location & North America, he is forced to work us using the long path exclusively...

I worked him a couple of weeks ago using my old boat-anchor running 100W into a low dipole..

15K miles from my QTH....it can be done

gud lck es let us know how you do...

p.s. Volker is one of those rare DX stations that likes to ragchew...no QRZ, yer 5/9,QRZ there