ad: L-HROutlet
ad: l-assoc
ad: l-WarrenG
ad: l-rl
ad: l-tentec
ad: l-Waters
ad: l-innov
ad: l-gcopper

Im needing a good antenna to mount on top of a 20 foot tower that is should also do 440.

I was looking at the Diamond X700HNA

Much feedback welcome because I am new to ham.
    Also I plain on running 150 to 300 watts depending on the antenna and amp.

Thanks

How much are you willing to spend? #For around $100, you can get a Tram 1481 that will give you a claimed 8.3dBi of gain on 2M and 11.7dBi of gain on 70cm. #But, you could spend more, or less, and still get a decent dual band antenna. #So, how much do you want to spend?

Richard
    AI4IJ

Hands down best? Think "more than $100." Think Stationmaster by Celwave.

I will spend more than $100 but I dont think that more than $500 wont have any benifits but that is why Im here asking

Quote Originally Posted by [b
    Quote[/b] (WA2ZDY @ Jan. 09 2007,19:53)]Hands down best? #Think "more than $100." #Think Stationmaster by Celwave.
    If all you've got to spend on your 2M/70cm vertical base antenna is $100, the Tram 1481 IS the "hands down best." #

Richard
    AI4IJ

I'm really not an expert, but I will tell you to check the power ratings on the Diamond. I used to run a 200 watt amplifier on occasion on FM, to work some very distant machines. 200 watts to a vertical is usually a very bad idea, anyway - you will bring up every repeater on that channel pair for hundreds of miles when the band conditions are right. But nonetheless, I managed to 'fry' my Diamond slightly. It's rated at 100 W and it means it. I am not sure what the rating is for the antenna you mentioned.