Callsign
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 12

Thread: HELP YOUR FELLOW HAMS

ad: l-AmericanRadio
ad: l-assoc
ad: l-BCInc
ad: l-gcopper
ad: l-ezhang
ad: l-innov
ad: l-Waters
ad: l-hrd-1
  1. #1

    Default

    I have been on EBAY reporting people whom have stolen ebay account and have been selling ham radio equipment using the stolen account. The people who bid then get their accounts stolen some how.

    Here is an example of how the ad looks

    http://cgi.ebay.com/YAESU-F....6975455

    Notice the bidder ID is kept private?

    Notice the seller is offering a buy it now in USD but is not using the buy it now option from ebay?

    Notice the auction is 24 hours?

    Notice the AWESOME price?

    Notice the other items the seller is selling, they sell the same stuff all the time.

    You will also notice that sometimes it is an actual auction they stole the picture or the entire ad from a real auction.

    Go to the bottom of the page and click on Report this item

    then choose

    Fraudulent Listings

    then select

    You suspect a listing is fraudulent you didnt bid

    click continue

    then click email us

    then just say you suspect the sellers account has been stolen

    it will go away

    I do searches for Yaesu or ICOM or any other radio and if i find them listed in a wrong area like this one is listed in Books > Nonfiction Books I will look and see what the auction is.

    Get to know what the other items are they try to sell and use that for the search also

    I reported one that was selling a TS-2000 5 times the same one in 5 different sections of Ebay.

    Be Cautious dont be scammed and lets help other hams not get scammed
    The universe is a pretty big place. If it's just us, seems like an awful waste of space.


  2. #2

    Default

    Also you can click on ask the seller a question and sometimes the seller has no idea their account has been stolen.
    The universe is a pretty big place. If it's just us, seems like an awful waste of space.


  3. #3
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Location
    Barberton, Ohio
    Posts
    11,152

    Default

    They get hold of accounts by phishing.

    You've heard of the method: Message purporting to be from Ebay customer service or such arrives in your Inbox; states that your account might be compromised and has a link to a website for you to 'verify' your account info.

    You're required to input your username...password...possibly, BidPay or PayPal info...bingo! Ownzered...

    The slimeballs can then use your account to run all sorts of nefarious auctions.

    Last year there were a bunch of KWM380s being advertised - goods were located in London; low initial bid price, zero or low feedback seller, etc...as fast as eBay shut them down another would pop back up in its place.

    Castration is too good a punishment for these lusers...
    The AR15/M16 - Irritating practically everyone since 1960...

  4. #4

    Default

    found another searched ICOM

    http://cgi.ebay.com/ICOM-R-....6174575
    The universe is a pretty big place. If it's just us, seems like an awful waste of space.


  5. #5
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Location
    Long Island N.Y
    Posts
    157

    Default

    This guy has 42 items listed, all at a starting bid of $99.00, you can E Mail him to "buy now" any of these items, the "buy now" price for the Yeasu rig is $1,000 and has no feedback at all from any buyers. He also seems to be big into buying jewlery. Seems strange to Me.

    If it seems to good to be true.... It probably is.

  6. #6

    Default

    the stuff he bought is most likely legit, but his account has been stolen and if you send him a message i bet he does not know someone stole his account and is selling under his user name
    The universe is a pretty big place. If it's just us, seems like an awful waste of space.


  7. #7
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Location
    Long Island N.Y
    Posts
    157

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by [b
    Quote[/b] (W6GQ @ Aug. 09 2006,21:02)]found another searched ICOM

    http://cgi.ebay.com/ICOM-R-....6174575
    Now..... Is this guy selling an Icom R-9000 or a set of 6 Motorola GP-360 handhelds. I see a picture of an Icom, but read the description of Motorola handhelds

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Jul 2004
    Location
    Washington, Pennsylvania
    Posts
    4,220

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by [b
    Quote[/b] (n8yx @ Aug. 09 2006,23:43)]They get hold of accounts by phishing.

    You've heard of the method: Message purporting to be from Ebay customer service or such arrives in your Inbox; states that your account might be compromised and has a link to a website for you to 'verify' your account info.

    You're required to input your username...password...possibly, BidPay or PayPal info...bingo! Ownzered...

    The slimeballs can then use your account to run all sorts of nefarious auctions.

    Last year there were a bunch of KWM380s being advertised - goods were located in London; low initial bid price, zero or low feedback seller, etc...as fast as eBay shut them down another would pop back up in its place.

    Castration is too good a punishment for these lusers...
    It seems that the volume of these bogus e-mails from E-Bay & PayPal are on the increase in my inbox.

    I even got a new-twist on an old theme the other day.
    An e-mail from E-Bay telling me my listing of a plasma TV I had for sale at a starting price of $ 499.00 was sucessfully listed, and wanted to know if I had any other items that I wanted to list.
    They even went as far as sending a bogus 'question' from another E-Bay user asking a question about the TV for sale.
    Needless to say, they went into the recycle bin without further examination.

    In the past, I have received numerous inquiries from E-Bay & PayPal wanting me to update my user information for various reasons.
    Hello.......Recycle Bin !!!
    Fool me once...Shame on YOU.
    Fool me twice...Shame on ME !

  9. #9

    Default

    has anyone used UBID? any better? worse?
    The universe is a pretty big place. If it's just us, seems like an awful waste of space.


  10. #10

    Default

    The universe is a pretty big place. If it's just us, seems like an awful waste of space.


Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •