Your favorite mode you like talking on

Discussion in 'Discussions, Opinions & Editorials' started by N4CYA, Jan 8, 2013.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. N4CYA

N4CYA MODERATOR / DX HELPER MANAGER

For the past 7 years of being a Amateur Radio/Ham operator I really enjoyed using the digital mode like D-Star, NXDN & Mototrbo and at times on Analog FM repeaters if there's usage on them. What all analog/digital or etc you guys and ladies use and like?

2. W7UUU

W7UUU Premium Subscriber

For 35 years, CW - 99.999%

But I have to be honest and say that in the last 6 months, I've found I actually like SSB!!! And RTTY & SSTV
    as well.... although I don't QSO much on those modes just yet - I did have fun on the RTTY contest this last
    weekend.

Gotta say - I'm expanding my view outside of CW - to me, that was the "essence" of ham radio since
    I was a teenager in the 70s. I used to flirt with a girl when I was 16 on CW for up to FOUR HOURS every day after
    school, on 40m CW (she was a local to Seattle area so on ground wave)... that was our "texting".
    I even remember her call - WB7AIX - I don't think we ever met in person.

So now... favorite mode? Gotta say SSB ragchews... never thought I'd say that!

Dave
    W7UUU

3. KC9UDX

KC9UDX Subscriber

AM.And now, I have to think of something witty to meet the ten character limit..

4. W7UUU

W7UUU Premium Subscriber

Curious what band... pretty dead mode outside of 75m

5. KC9UDX

KC9UDX Subscriber

6. And yes, it's "pretty dead" there but that's what some of us are trying to change :)

6. N2ADV

N2ADV Premium Subscriber

JT65, PSK, CW, Phone :)

7. WU8Y

WU8Y Ham Member