Where to start? - Books? Courses? Online? Kits?

Discussion in 'Homebrew and Kit Projects' started by KI7MDI, Apr 8, 2017.

ad: L-HROutlet
ad: l-rl
ad: Subscribe
ad: l-gcopper
ad: L-rfparts
  1. KI7MDI

KI7MDI Subscriber QRZ Page

I am very new to the hobby. I just got my Technician license less than two weeks ago. I wasn't sure what I wanted to do in Ham Radio at first. There are so many different possibilities to choose from. But I have decided to give Home Brew a try. I've had a mild interest in electronics for a while, but have never pursued it. I know that I've got a long way to go!

I thought I would start with a few simple kits. I have one of the Ultra Picokeyer kits from HamGadgets that I plan on using to practice CW with. However, I thought that I can put kits together all day long, but I won't understand what I'm doing. Sure, I can solder in the capacitor that comes with the kit, but why did was that particular capacitor used? I'd like to, at least, have a basic to mid-range understanding of the electronics used.

I was hoping that I could get some recommendations on where to start. Books, courses, YouTube videos, etc.

Thanks,
    Randy - KI7MDI

AF7XT, AE9AM and AF7XI like this.
  2. K8ERV

K8ERV Ham Member QRZ Page

Check for a ham club in your area. Good source for advice and maybe loaner books. Also your library.

TOM K8ERV Montrose Colo

3. KE0ZU

KE0ZU Ham Member QRZ Page

I would suggest you get a copy of the ARRL handbook from the 70s or earlier, read, and re-read the first few chapters a couple of times. This will give you good knowledge of the basics, and you'll have a better idea where you want to go next.

Mike

AC2BX and KC8YLT like this.
  4. VK2TIL

VK2TIL Ham Member QRZ Page

KI7MDI likes this.
  5. VK3YE

VK3YE Ham Member QRZ Page

Randy. Get yourself a 40m SSB Bitx40 transceiver for $59 - http://www.hfsigs.com/bitx40v3_circuit.html