ad: w5yi

Weird PSK no-decode problem, any ideas?

Discussion in 'Working Different Modes' started by N6PL, Oct 7, 2019.

ad: L-HROutlet
ad: l-rl
ad: Subscribe
ad: L-MFJ
ad: Left-2
ad: MessiPaoloni-1
  1. N6PL

N6PL Ham Member QRZ Page

I'm no newbie, been using various digital modes for many years but this one has me stumped. I'm unable to decode any PSK signals using an Icom 706MkII and any software (have tried both Digipan and MixW). It is not the computer, I have tried two and the problem doesn't change. Either will decode properly using a mic and any PSK recording from the Internet, but not when connected to the radio. I have tried multiple audio interface units including a simple cable directly from the headphone output of the radio to the computer line input, but no change. I have also tried an outboard USB audio card, same problem (but I know it's not the computer anyway since it can decode PSK audio from other sources using the internal soundcard.) It is not a simple level problem, I have tested that thoroughly. The waterfall display doesn't look entirely normal (I see various PSK signals across the passband as expected but the traces are indistinct and the tuning indicator will not lock, no doubt why I cannot decode anything.)

This pretty much leaves some issue with distorted radio audio as the only possible culprit, but not sure how that is possible. The audio out of the radio sounds normal to the ear and the radio seems to operate normally in all respects, and no issues are evident when using SSB phone. On a 706MkII there are no SSB audio adjustments available to cause problems, and of course DSP and any filters are disabled. It's a simple radio and seems to be working fine, except...