W0TSM, Tom Mahoney may be scammer

Discussion in 'Stolen Radios, Scams and Rip-Offs' started by WB2JIX, Jan 24, 2018.

ad: L-HROutlet
ad: l-rl
ad: Left-3
ad: MessiPaoloni-1
ad: Left-2
ad: K5AB-Elect-1
ad: Subscribe
ad: L-MFJ
  1. WB2JIX

    WB2JIX Ham Member QRZ Page

    Last week I posted a want ad on here and W0TSM responded that he had that exact item to sell. I sent PayPal and he's disappeared. I am resolving thru PayPal refund process.
    Just a warning.
    If he suddenly appears and makes good on this, I will re-post.
  2. AJ4GQ

    AJ4GQ Ham Member QRZ Page

    It wasn't the real W0TSM that emailed you. Was the scammer still using w0tsm16@gmail.com? Where did your PayPal payment actually go and did you use Friends & Family?
  3. WB2JIX

    WB2JIX Ham Member QRZ Page

    I never use friends & family and it actually went to a Sweetwater Farm or something like that.
    So, perhaps we can easily say that it's NOT the actual Tom Mahoney.
    It was the address above as well as a couple others.
    I have applied for refund so I'm not concerned.
    Funny because the scammer really put together a couple of nice photo's etc. Had the right answers.
  4. KA2FIR

    KA2FIR Ham Member QRZ Page

    He has no email address in his QRZ bio, RED FLAG.
    Report gmail addresses to google outlook to microsoft yahoo to yahoo.

  5. AJ4GQ

    AJ4GQ Ham Member QRZ Page

    You're right, it wasn't Tom. Glad you used G&S so you should get your money back.
  6. KG6N

    KG6N Ham Member QRZ Page

    I had the same guy reply to my wtb add on QTH by direct email. I looked on here and found this, he is asking for paypal, how do I report him.
    Frank KG6N
  7. 2E0WWU

    2E0WWU Ham Member QRZ Page

    he has done it to me to for $210 for a sda 100 controler it gos to a David Terbeck electronicspecialist014@gmail.com
    just hope i can get my money back not happy
  8. KA2FIR

    KA2FIR Ham Member QRZ Page


    m6gox has a flagged ad. I bet the post here post is from a scammer
  9. KA2FIR

    KA2FIR Ham Member QRZ Page

    You have an ad flagged caution.
  10. AJ4GQ

    AJ4GQ Ham Member QRZ Page

    I'm sorry to have to say this, but anyone that runs a Wanted Ad is just asking to be scammed. And those that don't do a thorough vetting of the prospective seller will get taken. Welcome to the real world. :(
    AC0OB likes this.

Share This Page

ad: elecraft