Technician reentering the hooby

Discussion in 'Discussions, Opinions & Editorials' started by KC8CTC, Feb 18, 2013.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. KC8CTC

KC8CTC Ham Member

I have been away from the hobby for awhile but recent death of friend makes me want to get back into the hobby to stay in contact. I am thinking of an Icom IC-7200 or Yaesu FT-897 of 450D...I am limited in funds and would have to save for awile but then I thought that maybe there were some radios I may be overlooking. I know 6 meters was offered on older models but I have no experience with them.

I located in urban area but I am working on locating wire dipoles or OCF between 2 large oak trees. What I would like is recommendation on the 3 radios above or a really good entry that has 6 meters. I am studying now for general.

Any help greatly appreciated

Terry kc8ctc

2. KC9UDX

KC9UDX Subscriber

Make sure and get yourself a degital multimeter.:p

3. AC4RD

AC4RD Ham Member

Terry, I have an 897D, and I love it--great little radio. But they're still selling for a fair bit of money, IMO, and I'm thinking you might find a better price-vs-performance ratio with a slightly newer radio. You're getting back to the hobby at a great time--there's a world of fun out there on HF these days! 73 and GL! --ken

4. K7MH

K7MH Ham Member

I'd go with the 7200. I would rather sit in front of the larger radio with more controls on the front and probably less menus. I don't care about 2 and 440 in an HF rig.

5. WB2WIK

WB2WIK Premium Subscriber

For home use, I don't either. In fact, I much prefer separate VHF-UHF rigs so I can operate HF and listen on VHF at the same time. For mobile use, an "all in one box" rig can be a great idea.