Speech To Morse Code Demo

Discussion in 'Straight Keys - CW Enthusiasts' started by N3HEE, Oct 8, 2019.

ad: L-HROutlet
ad: l-rl
ad: Left-2
ad: Subscribe
ad: Left-3
ad: MessiPaoloni-1
ad: L-MFJ
  1. N3HEE

N3HEE Ham Member QRZ Page

I've been thinking about the idea of Speech To Morse code for quite some time. I thought it would be really cool to just speak into a mic and CW would magically pop out of the radio. I recently started playing around with programming a Node-Red dashboard to control my Flex 6600M radio. Node-Red is a powerful software development tool that requires minimal programming by connecting pre-programmed "nodes" together. It's based on JavaScript. I ran across a node that would send recorded speech to IBM Watson and return text. The light bulb in my head went off and I quickly developed a Speech to Morse code converter that would send my spoken words directly to my radio as CW commands. I quickly found that there are some challenges with doing this such as Morse abbreviations, punctuation's and converting single spoken letters and words correctly. I then developed a Morse translator to deal with some of these issues and now have something that works reasonably well. I am able to have basic QSO's with a few spoken words. For now this is a work in progress and a novelty but perhaps someday it could be used by someone with limited physical abilities ?

Take a look at this short video demo to see how it works.

2. KG4KAH

KG4KAH Ham Member QRZ Page

Interesting. One of the values of Morse is that it can be understood in very noisy band conditions. You could also make it to successfully decode back to print for those who have hearing loss. Just thinking...

Wade
    KG4KAH
    SKCC 21094

3. K0UO

K0UO Subscriber QRZ Page

It's already been developed

4. N3HEE

N3HEE Ham Member QRZ Page

Hi Wade.