ad: k1jek

Simplex Premotion

Discussion in 'Ham Radio Discussions' started by W0AAV, Jul 11, 2002.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
ad: L-HROutlet
ad: l-rl
ad: Left-2
ad: Subscribe
ad: Left-3
ad: L-MFJ
ad: MessiPaoloni-1
  1. W0AAV

W0AAV Ham Member QRZ Page

I recently read the post that a fellow made on here saying there needed to be more premotion on simplex, I for one, agree with that post and in my area we have about 7 hams that I could talk simplex to but they just say they arent as active as they use to be. I think before we worry about simplex premotion we need to worry more about young blood. Ham radio is losing out to computers,cellphones and other various forms of communications. I have been licensed since I was a sophomore in highschool and when I mentioned to them what that cb like radio in my car was they had no idea about a ham radio nor had they ever heard about it.... I mostly hear guys say well why go spend all of that money on radios and antennas and all of the rest when you can get a cell phone and a cheap talk plan. It seems that our young people these days really have lost our traditions because the world sped up and they had no time for the social things. I am a Mason as well and in our lodges membership is low it is considered to be an old man thing, young people just waste too much time of chasing women and worrying about who is going to buy their alcohol for that night. I wish more young people would get their children involved in social events and activities before they reach the age to not care and just do the things that kids these days enjoy...most of which are illegal. Then maybe our repeaters would be more active and our simplex would go back to being so active that a cq would be needed to get a word in edge wise.

2. K9STH

K9STH Platinum Subscriber Volunteer Moderator Platinum Subscriber QRZ Page