Simple logging software for a newbie

Discussion in 'OS: Mac OS' started by KK6ISN, Nov 28, 2016.

ad: L-HROutlet
ad: l-rl
ad: Left-3
ad: L-MFJ
ad: Left-2
ad: Subscribe
ad: K5AB-Elect-1
ad: MessiPaoloni-1
  1. KK6ISN

KK6ISN Ham Member QRZ Page

I am just getting into the hobby and started looking at logging software as a place to keep notes. I'm not interested in QSL cards or contesting right now, just a place to keep a variety of notes. Here's the type of things I'd like to track:
    - Notes from scanning. I'm trying to figure out local activity, so I started with a list of local repeaters, the data is pretty dirty, so I need to make notes on which ones are active, how well i receive them, if I hear voice modes or not, etc.

- Which local clubs use which repeaters

- Schedule of regular nets, log of notes each time I join

- Rig changes: equipment, settings, test results

- Actual contact log with a person

I'm using a MacBook and I'd prefer to do this on OSX, but I do have a Windows 8 VM if the right software is Windows only. I'm already using Windows for the Kenwood programming software. I've looked at a few of the popular packages and they all seemed aimed at logging individual contacts, or contesting of some sort. I really just want a sort of journal, but ideally something that understood a few key pieces of data I could search on like call sign, frequency, date, etc. Is there a plain "logbook"?

2. K3DCW

K3DCW QRZ Lifetime Member #212 Volunteer Moderator Platinum Subscriber Life Member QRZ Page

For the stuff you're looking for, a normal logbook won't cover all of that. They are designed for something like your last option: actual contal log with a person. However, there is a solution already on your Mac. The Notes app, especially if you're using El Capitan or Sierra. It is perfect for what you're trying to do. You can create folders, add all kinds of data to the notes' pages, and back it all up to your