Should History be a subject at school?

Discussion in 'ex-Rag Chew Central' started by EI4GMB, Aug 11, 2013.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
ad: L-HROutlet
ad: l-assoc
ad: l-gcopper
ad: l-rl
ad: Subscribe
ad: L-rfparts
  1. EI4GMB

EI4GMB Ham Member QRZ Page

As a History graduate I often wonder if History should be taught at all in schools. Here in Ireland, were there is political conflict, people are hung up on the past. We hear the same old rhetoric time and time again from both sides of the divide. It is always the same - deferring to history and what went on in the past. Personally, I think if history was dropped as a subject at school the world would be a better place and people would forget about the past and finally get on with the future ...

Last edited: Aug 11, 2013
  2. K6CPO

K6CPO Ham Member QRZ Page

I think history was eliminated from school curriculum because we realized we never learned from the events of the past. Look at Afghanistan. It's rapidly turning into another Vietnam and it's obvious we didn't learn anything from that protracted conflict. After we withdraw from Afghanistan, the outcome will be the same as it was in Vietnam.

3. W4HAY

W4HAY Ham Member QRZ Page

What history isn't revised for political correctness is ignored as being "inconvenient".

4. N5CEY

N5CEY Ham Member QRZ Page

History is always written from the viewpoint of the victor, which is why it is always distorted. The vanquished never get to tell their side.

5. 2E0OZI

2E0OZI Ham Member QRZ Page

Thats very true - the question arising is "who's history will be taught?" I recommend anyone wishing to understand the history of the British Isles should read all 3 volumes of Professor Simon Schama's "A History of Britain". Its a great read, and note he calls it "A History" not THE history. Because its his history.