RG-6 vs RG-58

Discussion in 'Antennas, Feedlines, Towers & Rotors' started by N4JWA, Jan 8, 2011.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
ad: L-HROutlet
ad: l-rl
ad: L-rfparts
ad: l-assoc
ad: l-gcopper
ad: Subscribe
  1. N4JWA

N4JWA Ham Member QRZ Page

I use to be in the cable business. I worked for Time Warner. I have a roll of RG-6 Cable. Is there any reason RG-6 won't work just as good as the common and more expensive RG-58? Just wondering I am new to HAM and would like to know.

2. K5PO

K5PO Ham Member QRZ Page

Depending on the application, it might work better. It is a lower loss cable than RG-58. This chart will give you some idea of the losses associated with many standard cables:

http://www.timesmicrowave.com/cgi-bin/calculate.pl

In terms of amateur radio use, RG-6 will usually not be the cable of choice as nearly all amateur radio cable needs require 50 ohm cable and RG-6 is a 75 ohm cable. That is not to say there is no use for it in ham, but a 50 ohm cable like RG-58 will be much more common.

Perhaps more details on what you are trying to do with this cable will allow us to provide more specific guidance.

3. K1DNR

K1DNR Ham Member QRZ Page

Lots of people here use RG6 in different applications. I have tons of it.

The characteristic impedance is 75 ohms of course, and not 50 ohms.

So you have a mismatch you may or may not need handle. It depends on the circumstances and what you are doing.

It also depends on the length.

The biggest challenge may be connectors. Its hard to solder aluminum.

There are adapters, F to Pl-259 but the ones I've used tend to suck and don't properly fit some so-259's because they are too short. There's also no telling what the loss is. But it all depends on the application.

Short answer is for most HF applications, you can use it.

Check out VK1OD's calculator for information on losses.

4. W0BTU

W0BTU Subscriber QRZ Page