ad: wmr-1

RF exposure question

Discussion in 'Antennas, Feedlines, Towers & Rotors' started by KC2ZDE, Dec 31, 2010.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
ad: L-HROutlet
ad: l-rl
ad: l-BCInc
ad: MessiPaoloni-1
ad: L-MFJ
ad: l-assoc
ad: Subscribe
  1. KC2ZDE

KC2ZDE Ham Member QRZ Page

Gentlemen, I'm new to ham radio. I've been using a handheld with a max output of 5 watts connected to a mag mounted antenna on a pizza pan in my shack in the basement. The 2M antenna is on the basement window sill. A poor setup I know. I recieved a mobile 2m unit for Christmas which puts out 75 watts max. In the spring I'm going to go with a roof mounted antenna but until then I want to use the mag mount antenna. Again in the window sill about 2 feet above my head. My Question; Should I be concerned about Rf exposure sitting below this antenna without a car surrounding me for protection? Thanks Guys, Craig in N.Y and enjoying the journey radio is taking me on.

2. NY3V

NY3V Ham Member QRZ Page

According to this online calculator, the answer is YES, you should be concerned!

http://www.wirelessconnections.net/calcs/rfsafety.asp

Wireless Calculators --> RF Safety

Controlled Env: 1.389 meters (4.557 feet)

Uncontrolled Env: 3.087 meters (10.128 feet)
    Controlled Environment : 1.005 mW/cm2
    Is the Controlled Env Area Compliant?: No
    Uncontrolled Environment : 0.205 mW/cm2
    Is the Uncontrolled Env Area Compliant?: No

INPUTS:
    Frequency of Operation : 148.000 MHz
    Average Power at Antenna : 75.000 Watts
    Antenna Gain : 5.000 dBi
    Distance from Antenna : 0.610 meters (2.000 feet)
    Estimated Power Density : 5.079 mW/cm2
    Ground Reflections : No

3. KC2ZDE

KC2ZDE Ham Member QRZ Page

Rf exposure

Excellent web site for RF exposure! Thanks for the reply. I'm definately re-thinking my setup.
    Thanks, NY3V

4. K9ASE

K9ASE XML Subscriber QRZ Page

also your mobile radio may not like that much RF so close. it may shut itself down to protect itself.