Propagation reports and conditions.... do you follow them?

Discussion in 'QRP Corner' started by KK4NSF, Dec 21, 2015.

ad: L-HROutlet
ad: l-rl
ad: Left-2
ad: L-MFJ
ad: Subscribe
ad: MessiPaoloni-1
ad: Left-3
  1. KK4NSF

KK4NSF Ham Member QRZ Page

For the last few days, band conditions have been pretty bad on 40m.... with noise levels reaching up to S7 at some times. This is mostly due to a Coronal Mass Ejection from the sun that occurred over the week-end. According to the forecasts, this noise is supposed to be subsiding today and tomorrow is expected to be a good radio day.

As a qrp operator, I use the heck out these forecasts and plan my sessions partly based on what the Space Weather forecast looks like..... the same way I also look at the regular weather forecast to see if there is going to be lightning or thunderstorms. I've learned from experience that if the noise level is running greater than s5, my puny little QRP signal won't get through no matter what I do....in which case I break out the BIG GUNS: 100W from my Kenwood 440.

I use www.bandconditions.com Do you use these sort of Space Weather Reports to plan your activities? If so, which forecast do you find to be the best indicator? OR do you just turn on your radio and listen to see how noisy it is out there?

Dave
    KK4NSF

quote for the day: "We've created a mess so big and so tall, there's no way to fix it.... no way at all" Dr Suess, in "The Cat in the Hat" 1957

2. W7CJD

W7CJD Ham Member QRZ Page

I have G4ILO VOAPROP that shows the MUF on the world map, relative to my QTH.

I recommend it.

At my QTH, 40-meters is right now.

3. N5EIT

N5EIT Platinum Subscriber Platinum Subscriber QRZ Page