ad: w5yi

Problem: No decoding on WSJT-X Software

Discussion in 'Working Different Modes' started by KB3HGC, Jan 25, 2018.

ad: L-HROutlet
ad: l-rl
ad: L-MFJ
ad: Left-2
ad: Subscribe
ad: K5AB-Elect-1
ad: MessiPaoloni-1
  1. KB3HGC

KB3HGC Ham Member QRZ Page

I'm new to HF Digital and could really use some help. I was hoping to try out operating FT8 but I cant get the WSJT-X Software to decode any incoming digital signal on FT8, or any other mode. I am using a Yaesu FTDX3000 and have managed to get my radio to interface with the software. Strong FT8 signals are coming in tonight on 3.573 MHz but noting gets decoded. I have tried messing with the levels of the audio coming into the computer from the radio. I have the levels set at around 30db, and the meter in the bottom left of the WSJT-X window is in the green. The waterfall display shows strong signals despite the fact that nothing is getting decoded. I will try to provide as much detailed information on the settings of the radio and computer as I can.

Radio: Yaesu FTDX3000
    Current RF output power setting: 25 watts
    Menu #37, CAT SELECT set to USB
    Menu #38, CAT RATE set to 4800bps
    Menu #39, CAT TIME OUT TIMER set to 10msec
    Menu #40, CAT RTS set to ENABLE

Computer's operating system is Windows 10
    In the WSJT-X Software in the settings, and in the "General Tab" I have my call sign, grid square, and IARU Region set up. Under the "display" heading the following boxes are checked: "Blank line between decoding periods", "Display distance in miles", "Tx messages to Rx frequency window". Under the "behavior" setting the following boxes are checked: "Double-click on call sets Tx enable", "Disable Tx after sending 73". All other boxes are unchecked.

In the settings under the "Radio tab" the settings are as follows:
    Rig: Yaesu FTDX5000 [My radio is a Yaesu FTDX3000, but that is not on option in the drop down menu. As a result I choose the FTDX5000 from the menu and it seems to be working fine.}