Playing With A 2E26

Discussion in 'Homebrew and Kit Projects' started by WA2FXM, Feb 16, 2017.

ad: L-HROutlet
ad: l-rl
ad: l-gcopper
ad: Subscribe
ad: l-assoc
ad: L-rfparts
  1. WA2FXM

WA2FXM Ham Member QRZ Page

This is my first attempt at hollow state designing. I'm learning a lot but I've hit a wall and need some help.

I'm attempting to rebuild an old Stancor mobile AM transmitter into a 60 meter CW rig. It was designed for 10 meters with a 6V6 oscillator and 2E26 amplifier. I've removed the audio section and left most of the original component values intact. By replacing just the tank circuit coils I'm able to get the 6V6 going on 5 mHz and the 2E26 resonant with about 15 mA of plate current.

The 2E26 is rated for 75mA at 400V, but using various values of impedance and capacitance in the final tank circuit and antenna coupling I haven't been able to get more than 40mA in the plate circuit. Using the original 35pF tank capacitor I wound a 30uH coil that resonanted fine, but there was no loading with just 2 turns on the antenna coupler coil. Most of the ancient tube books show just a a few turns on the coil and say coupling is done by trial and error. I kept adding turns and when I got to 9 I was able to load up to 40mA before the coupling capacitor maxed out.

The 1936 ARRL Handbook has a formula for determining the best tank capacitance for maximun efficiency. Using this formula I rebuilt the tank circuit with 90pF and 10uH. Again, there's resonance with 15mA but no loading at all with 3 turns on the antenna coupling coil.

Is it just a matter of adding turns to the coupling coil until it gets full load or should I be checking drive levels from the oscillator?

Mark WA2FXM

20170216_081306.jpg

W7UUU likes this.
  2. N2EY

N2EY Subscriber QRZ Page

IMHO you should make it a pi-network output circuit. You may need to change out one or both capacitors but that's no big deal.

3. KL7AJ

KL7AJ Premium Subscriber QRZ Page

The 2E26 is such a cute baby 6146. :)