ad: k1jek

OS X El Capitan and unsigned drivers

Discussion in 'OS: Mac OS' started by N0FY, May 4, 2016.

ad: l-rl
  1. N0FY

N0FY XML Subscriber QRZ Page

I'm new to using the Mac for logging and radio control and had a fit getting everything to work so I thought I'd post my experience for others. I use an Icom 746Pro with a West Mountain Plug and Play to provide the CIV interface via USB and a virtual serial port. The issue is the West Mountain drivers are not signed yet. The current version of OS X is not tolerant of unsigned drivers now Apple has integrated System Integrity Protection (SIP) to prevent malware attacking users. I totally applaud the addition of SIP to further protect me, that's why I love Apple. However, we you need a work around, which to turn SIP off, which you can do as follows:

Boot you Mac to the Recovery System, holding the command R down during boot.
    Click the Utilites menu and select Terminal.
    Type "csrutil disable" and press return.
    Close the Terminal app.
    Clikc the menu and select Restart

If you later want to re-engage SIP, repeat the steps and use the "csrutil" argument to "enable".

There were prior workarounds but they went out the window with El Capitan.

I hope this is helpful to another Ham and I've saved them the hours I spent tracking this down.

Tom N0FY

2. K3DCW

K3DCW QRZ Lifetime Member #212 Volunteer Moderator Platinum Subscriber Life Member QRZ Page

Thanks, Tom.

Ultimately the solution is for West Mountain to provide signed drivers. There are other manufacturers that have long supported OS X that also haven't provided signed drivers (yet); (I'm looking at you, Timewave!)

I don't now if the West Mountain hardware is FTDI-based, but if so perhaps this solution will work for their gear (like it does for the Timewave Navigator) even though Timewave hasn't signed their drivers.

1) Install the unsigned drivers. Reboot