ad: PowerFilm-1

No any hams on amateur bands listening

Discussion in 'Discussions, Opinions & Editorials' started by KK6CNL, Jan 22, 2013.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
ad: L-HROutlet
ad: l-assoc
ad: L-rfparts
ad: L-Geochron
ad: l-rl
ad: l-innov
ad: l-sarc
ad: l-gcopper
ad: l-Waters
  1. KK6CNL

KK6CNL Ham Member QRZ Page

Hi I got the radio few days ago It is icom 756 Pro 2 and try to listen any conversations on the amateur bands.I dont have antenna yet but I made the loop and attached it inside my garage where i have a radio but I can hear only AM regular radio stations.Is this supposed to be like this or is it radio bad? Do I need good antenna outside?Sorry for question like this. Im new in this business.Thanks.

2. N0AZZ

N0AZZ Ham Member QRZ Page

Look closely at your Tech manual it will tell you how to make a simple dipole so you can listen to a band or 2 till you get a better antenna up. A loop should work for you to listen what kind of a balun are you using with the loop to attach the coax to the radio with?

3. NN5AA

NN5AA Ham Member QRZ Page

Just out of curiosity, where do you live? What mode are you trying to listen with? Is your garage surrounded by 20 story buildings or hills? Do you receive FM stations where you live?

4. WA6MHZ

WA6MHZ Premium Subscriber QRZ Page

It also could be time of day U are listenning. Tune in 20, 15 and 10M after dark and you will only hear hiss and power lines. That is all I hear. And that is on a $6000 radio! All the ham activity has moved down to 40 and 75M. 40 is chock full of SW Broadcast stations, but between them are a few Ham QSOs. 75 has wide open spaces but in tuning the band U should find a few QSOs, mostly about Gall bladders operations and which laxative works best.

Listen to 20M during the daylight hours, 14.160-14.350 and U should hear some stations. Even with a random wire U will hear stuff. or the radio doesn't work.

5. KB9UWU

KB9UWU Ham Member QRZ Page