Need help from amp builders

Discussion in 'Amateur Radio Amplifiers' started by KN4CTD, Nov 16, 2018.

ad: L-HROutlet
ad: l-rl
ad: L-MFJ
ad: Left-2
ad: Left-3
ad: MessiPaoloni-1
ad: Subscribe
  1. KN4CTD

KN4CTD Ham Member QRZ Page

I am in the early stages of testing a homebrew dual gi46b amplifier I’ve built/retrofitted into an old chassis. This is my first, so be easy on me, I’m still learning. I’m using a w4zt bias board. I applied hv and keyed amp using no drive, and the idle current soars....takes off. Doesn’t draw current without being keyed which indicates to me it’s not a tube short....opinions please? These are wired in a standard parallel grounded grid configuration. I was measuring plate current using a fluke meter tied in series with the bias fuse. Any and all help will be appreciated

2. WB2WIK

WB2WIK Platinum Subscriber Platinum Subscriber QRZ Page

I'd need a lot more information, like the schematic.

You can't measure plate current with an external meter having "leads" unless what you're really measuring is the voltage drop across a very low-resistance metering resistor; otherwise, unless the meter is very well decoupled from the circuit, the meter and its leads can cause an oscillation.

More details.

3. W1QJ

W1QJ Ham Member QRZ Page

Need to know a lot more information. What did you set the operating bias voltage to and where and how are you applying and switching it?

4. KN4CTD

I don’t guess we really ever “set” the bias voltage on the board to a specific voltage. We were keying the amp with a foot pedal and no rf drive applied. When in standby, the ht B- is tied to the cathode through a 100k ohm cutoff resistor through the 3pdt input/output/keying relay. When the amp is keyed, the ht B- is going to the black wire on the w4zt bias board (via a 1 amp fuse) and the red wire from the board is tied to the cathode.

5. KN4CTD