ad: K5AB-Elect-1
ad: Left-2
ad: Left-3
ad: L-MFJ
ad: Subscribe
ad: MessiPaoloni-1
  1. AC0BX

AC0BX Ham Member QRZ Page

I am new to the digital modes, as of a couple of days ago. I've been using Digipan without to many problems. Well last night I downloaded the trial version of MixW. It is functioning on receive no problems. I've got the ptt set up to key my radio no problems, but it doesn't modulate the radio. I reopened Digipan just to be sure everything was still connected right. and it worked fine. The only difference I can tell is that the when I click on "tune" in Digipan I get a lower tone out of my computer speakers than I do with MixW Other than that I don't know what isn't working. If I max the computer volume out I get about 5 watts deflection on my mfj versatuner meter where as with Digipan I'm getting 50 watts deflection with less than half volume on the computer.

Anyway just for background info I'm running a TenTec Omni C with a MFJ Versatuner, and an OCF dipole. I have a 500Mhz Athalon computer.

Thanks for the input

jason

2. AC0BX

I forgot to mention that I am keying the ptt using the serial port and the dtr and rts lines. I can hear the radio keying, so I know it is working and it works fine with Digipan.

3. AC0BX

well it turns out it is actually the RTS line, but in anycase the ptt is working fine, it's the modulation thats giving me a problem.

4. AG3Y

AG3Y Guest

I need some more answers from you before I can attempt to troubleshoot your problem.

You said "lower tone" from Digipan. How much lower? Just a few "notes" or something like half the frequency? If MixW is sending out tones in excess of 3 Khz or so, your sideband filters will cut the level down as you are describing.

What mode are you trying when you generate these tones? I would assume PSK31, but I cannot be sure.

Have you clicked the left mouse button on some incoming signal, and when you try to transmit, are the tones coming out the same as the ones you are receiving?