ad: UR5CDX-1

Lunar satellite crash site found by Ham

Discussion in 'Amateur Radio News' started by W0PV, Nov 22, 2019.

ad: L-HROutlet
ad: l-rl
ad: L-MFJ
ad: Left-3
ad: Radclub22-2
ad: Left-2
ad: abrind-2
  1. W0PV

W0PV Ham Member QRZ Page

As reported in Universe Today and on the web site of the radio amateur credited with the discovery. Extensive text excerpts with links below.

73 John WØPV

[​IMG]

Among amateur astronomists (sic) and citizen scientists, Daniel Estévez is a well-known figure. In addition to being an amateur radio operator with a PhD in Mathematics and a BSc in Computer Science, Estévez is also an amateur spacecraft tracker. It was he who, in May of 2019, made an official estimate on when the Longjiang-2 satellite would crash on the lunar surface.

(article continued below)
    ------------------------
    From the Short Bio on the Daniel Estévez home page and blog site,

I am an Amateur Radio operator (Spanish callsign EA4GPZ, UK callsign M0HXM) and I am especially interested in the scientific and technical aspects of radio.

My research interests encompass anything having to do with radio, even if only tangentially. Some of my usual topics involve space communications (especially small satellites), using RF for the purposes of measurement (radar, Doppler measurements, polarization, etc.), and processing RF recordings to extract data. I usually perform my research rather informally, since I do it in my free time for fun and personal development. Recently I’ve become interested in other topics such as orbital dynamics and radio astronomy. I also like applying advanced mathematics to these problems.

-----------------
    (article continued from above)