ad: SDRKits-1

Looking for a Panadapter "Primer"

Discussion in 'Software Defined Radio (SDR)' started by W4ATX, May 4, 2019.

ad: L-HROutlet
ad: l-rl
ad: Subscribe
ad: L-MFJ
ad: Left-2
ad: Left-3
ad: MessiPaoloni-1
  1. W4ATX

W4ATX XML Subscriber QRZ Page

Not sure if this is the proper area...apologies if it is not!

I recently picked up a Yaesu FTdx3000 and I think I may be interested in playing around with a panadapter. I use HRD and its limited panadapter function is intriguing. However, I know NOTHING in regards to what is required. I need direction as if I am a complete noob! (I'm electronically competent...just don't have a clue about this topic.)

So...are there any sites or manuals available that can get me up to speed?

W9WQA likes this.
  2. W4ATX

Clarification: In HRD the "bandscope" is what I've been playing with.

3. WA0YDE

WA0YDE Ham Member QRZ Page

Not related to HRD, but the SDRPlay site has a primer on panadapters. You could also check out HDSDR, RTL SDR and others for general info.

W9WQA likes this.
  4. K7TRF

K7TRF Premium Subscriber QRZ Page

Wow, not a lot of replies yet.

I've only played with SDR panadapters a bit and have used more traditional means like spectrum analyzers and analog bandscopes for years so I'm no expert here in SDR capabilities but here's what I've observed: