Is it HAM or ham or Ham or.....

Discussion in 'Ham Radio Discussions' started by K9STH, Aug 19, 2002.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
ad: L-HROutlet
ad: l-rl
ad: Left-2
ad: MessiPaoloni-1
ad: L-MFJ
ad: Subscribe
  1. K9STH

K9STH Platinum Subscriber Volunteer Moderator Platinum Subscriber QRZ Page

I type it amateur, as in amateur radio!

Glen, K9STH

2. W5ATX

W5ATX Guest

amateur or ham radio. It's not capitalised as "ham radio" is not a proper noun. But "ham" IS an adjective, not a noun in itself. I see posts here about "ham" and it drives me nuts. (No, I know it shouldn't but it just sounds so . . . .hokey.)

I am new to ham. I like ham. Ham is my new hobby. I am puttinig ham on my new boat. I want my license for ham.

Ham is something you eat - it comes from the pig. This hobby/service of ours is not pork, it's radio. Ham radio.

How's that? Thanks, I had to finally get that off my chest.

Chris

3. VA7KBH

VA7KBH Ham Member QRZ Page

I can only agree with you guys!

Seeing people post HAM radio on the forums like it was some kind of acronym has been driving me crazy!

VA7KBH

4. K6UEY

K6UEY Ham Member QRZ Page

That's interesting that on this forum more attention is placed in the grammatical structure of a post than there is in the informational or technical structure of the post. I guess it is the name that is misleading  " QRZ.COM " at first glance one would think it had to do with HAM RADIO ( and yes I am shouting ) I got into Amateur Radio when it was some thing to be proud to be a part of ,when it was a Technical Fraternity of those who had a curiosity for the experimenting and learning of the science of Electronics and Communications. Now I guess as the newer generations have down graded it to a mere hobby it is no longer some thing to shout about ,so as not to have it confused with CB.