Inverted L antenna - compared to G5RV, multi-band vertical

Discussion in 'Antennas, Feedlines, Towers & Rotors' started by AE7F, Apr 12, 2011.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. AE7F

AE7F Ham Member QRZ Page

I have no experience with an inverted L. I was able to find some information by using Google to search QRZ by entering this query: inverted l antenna site:qrz.com

I have a more general thread going on here:
    http://forums.qrz.com/showthread.php?292278-Using-a-QTH-diagram-help-me-evaluate-antenna-feasibility...

In that thread, I ask a few questions about the inverted L antenna, which may have been more appropriate for a specific thread about inverted L antennas:
    1. If I use a metal mast with an inverted L, won't the metal mast interfere with the vertical section?
    2. If one has to put down a bunch of radials under the antenna, why not just use a multiband vertical antenna instead?
    3. Will a well-designed inverted L antenna outperform a well-designed multiband vertical antenna?
    4. Will a well-designed inverted L antenna outperform a well-designed G5RV antenna?

2. KB4QAA

KB4QAA XML Subscriber QRZ Page

3. EI4GMB

EI4GMB Ham Member QRZ Page

1. If I use a metal mast with an inverted L, won't the metal mast interfere with the vertical section? Yes
    2. If one has to put down a bunch of radials under the antenna, why not just use a multiband vertical antenna instead? Good Point
    3. Will a well-designed inverted L antenna outperform a well-designed multiband vertical antenna? On 80m,20m,17m,15m it will. On 40m,12m &10m they would be the same
    4. Will a well-designed inverted L antenna outperform a well-designed G5RV antenna? Not a lot of difference

Hope this helps.

Fred EI4GMB

Last edited: Apr 12, 2011
  4. WB2WIK

WB2WIK Premium Subscriber QRZ Page