Ignorant about PSK-31

Discussion in 'Working Different Modes' started by W9RAC, Jun 10, 2019.

ad: L-HROutlet
ad: l-rl
ad: Subscribe
ad: L-MFJ
ad: Left-2
ad: K5AB-Elect-1
ad: MessiPaoloni-1
  1. W9RAC

W9RAC Subscriber QRZ Page

I've been a Amateur for a long time. CW/SSB all HF. I have never had any exposure to digital like PSK-31, none, zero, I know nothing. So I have a Yaesu FT 2000 I want to use with PSK-31. I have ordered, or am getting ready to a Yaesu SCU-17 to use with it. I am having a very hard time understanding the process.

I am using a newer PC, windows based, 7 pro. which is the operating system I had installed since I like how solid it is. Its a solid state hard drive. So I see I need to download a virtual comport driver. I see this information listed in the SCU-17 manual online. They provide a link to Silicon Labs which is a dead end. I do searches for the SCU-17 comport download but I can not find anything. Evidently I need this for the computer before I hook up the SCU-17 and FT 2000. Im wanting to use the PSK-31 to rag chew. Would anyone who has this set up be able to please help me thru it. 73 Rich

2. N2SUB

N2SUB Premium Subscriber QRZ Page

Here are the links for the driver.....the best source of info for that is the installation guide (first link):

https://www.yaesu.com/indexVS.cfm?c...C03DED4AD35153E12C&DivisionID=65&isArchived=0

Click of the "FILES" tab. If you have trouble from there, bring it back to the Zed and I'm sure someone will be able to help. The driver will allow the computer to talk to the computer. Configuring whatever PSK software you'll be using is another thing all together. Good luck. It's a learning curve we've all gone through. :)

3. WR2E

WR2E Ham Member QRZ Page

4. W9RAC