ad: rfparts

I NEED HELP !!!!!!!!

Discussion in 'Discussions, Opinions & Editorials' started by N7ERE, Feb 3, 2013.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. N7ERE

N7ERE Ham Member

MY NAME IS ERIC (KF5TOB) AND I AM WANTING TO GET A HF RIG BUT I DONT KNOW WHAT BASE RADIO TO GET THERE ARE SO MANY OUT THERE AND THEY ARE NOT!!CHEAP I AM JUST NEEDING SOME DIRECTION I AM REALLY NEW TO HAM RADIO ALSO I HAVE A MOBILE RADIO AND A HT BUT I WANT TO HAVE A BASE UNIT THAT CAN DO ALL MODES AND ALSO OPERATE ON HF IF YOU HAVE ANY ADVISE FOR ME PLEASE FEEL FREE TO E-MAIL ME I CHECK EVERYDAY AT eric.ekhoff@yahoo.com
    THANKS SO MUCH
    73'S KF5TOB

2. K5FH

K5FH Ham Member

"What rig do I need?" is an almost impossible question to answer without knowing a lot more about you and your interests, etc.

The major manufacturers each make all-mode "base units" (us OTs shy away from calling them "base units" because of the unavoidable CB reference). Do you just want HF thru 6M, or do you also want 2M and 440 MHz all-mode capability? What power level? What other features do you want? What modes do you want to operate (I'm guessing mostly SSB and digital)? What price range?

I'm asking for more information so I and others can give you more specific, and more accurate, advice. As your question stands now, it's too vague to answer in any meaningful way.

3. KA4DPO

KA4DPO Ham Member

Why an Email Eric, you hiding something? Get a used TS-2000 or an FT-890, either one will do exactly what you just described.

4. N1RKW

N1RKW Ham Member

If you're looking for a "shack in a box" rig that does all modes and all bands from 160m to 70 cm (except 222 mhz), take a good, long look at the Yeasu FT-857D. I've been very happy with mine. They also tend to be less expensive than comparable rigs, though it will still be a sizable investment.

5. N0AZZ

N0AZZ Ham Member