How does the LOTW option in QRZ work?

Discussion in 'Logbook User Forum' started by KD0ZV, Nov 10, 2017.

ad: L-HROutlet
ad: l-rl
ad: L-MFJ
ad: Left-2
ad: MessiPaoloni-1
ad: Subscribe
  1. KD0ZV

KD0ZV Premium Subscriber QRZ Page

Can someone explain to me how the LOTW works in QRZ. By this I mean what order everything happens and what it is supposed to do?

Do we get QRZ award credit from our LOTW contacts? I assume that is what it is for.

My log stopped showing the shaded contacts from LOTW a few hundred contacts ago. I filled out a support request 3 days ago (yes I have a subscription that gives me support) and have not received an answer.

Everyone I have talked to including the logging software companies do not seem to know how QRZ handles this.

Rich
    kd0zv

2. W1DQ

W1DQ Logbook Administrator Volunteer Moderator Volunteer DX Helper Platinum Subscriber QRZ Page

QRZ analyzes the QSO records in your logbook to determine confirmation status. Awards are based on the same plus the particular award field test.

QRZ awards, just as any other award system (LoTW, eQSL, etc.), are based on their own independent rules. QRZ requires QRZ confirmed records for credit. See: https://s3.amazonaws.com/files.qrz.com/static/qrz/operating-award-rules-v1.pdf

QRZ requires your and your worked party's QSO records to be confirmed by possessing matching callsigns, band, mode, and UTC time/date fields within a 30-minute window; however QRZ accepts (for QRZ awards) LoTW confirmed QSOs (when so downloaded) for equivalent credit.

Normally, when a record is uploaded to LoTW its shading is changed from no shade to green. However if a change is made to that record after uploading its shading is removed until once again uploaded. This is to my best knowledge; if not so it is up to Hqs to resolve.

Last edited: Nov 11, 2017
  3. KD0ZV

Thanks much. I assumed it was automatic but was not doing anything.