Help with what coax to use?

Discussion in 'Antennas, Feedlines, Towers & Rotors' started by KF1X, Nov 30, 2012.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
ad: L-HROutlet
ad: l-rl
ad: Left-2
ad: Subscribe
ad: MessiPaoloni-1
ad: DLSpec-1
ad: Left-3
ad: L-MFJ
  1. KF1X

KF1X Ham Member QRZ Page

Hello Everyone,

Newbie here. I'm going to be taking my exam tomorrow, thus the lack of a call sign. ;)

I've purchased a Yaesu FT-2900R and I will be installing a homemade 1/4 wave 2M antenna on the roof peak. The cable run will be about 50ft. I'm a little confused with all of the coax types, which one I should be getting. I was going to get LMR-400, but from reading these forums I'm thinking that might be overkill?

I've seen a few people say RG-8 would be fine for similar setups, but I thought I'd see if ya'all could help clarify. Also, is RG-8 called something else? I don't see RG-8 at all on some of the bigger online retail sites.

Thank you for your attention to this thread and any help ya'all can provide.

Josh

2. KO6WB

KO6WB Premium Subscriber QRZ Page

The difference between LMR-400 and a good quality RG-8 is so tiny it would be impossible to tell. There are many variations of RG-8. There's 9913, RG-213, RG-214 and a few others.
    There are loss calculators on the web that'll help you make the right choices. Keep in mind they are for new cable. Here's one that allows the addition of the SWR loss; http://www.arrg.us/pages/Loss-Calc.htm.
    Hope this helps
    Gary

3. WB2WIK

WB2WIK Premium Subscriber QRZ Page

Hope you passed the test okay.

For 50' of cable on 2m, the "new and improved" version of RG-8/U is called RG-213/U and is very readily available. Nobody really makes "RG-8/U" anymore, although there are dozens of variants of the general "RG8" design. LMR400 is actually one of those variants.