Correct or move on?

Discussion in 'Working Different Modes' started by KI6J, Aug 1, 2010.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
ad: L-HROutlet
ad: l-rl
ad: L-MFJ
ad: MessiPaoloni-1
ad: Left-2
ad: Subscribe
  1. KI6J

KI6J Ham Member QRZ Page

It seems like every CW QSO I get into, I butcher a word or two, or more. Sometimes I send a couple of dits and correct the letter, sometimes I correct the whole word, and sometimes I just let it go and keep sending.

Each mistake is a judgment call, and sometimes I find myself getting jammed up making the call. It's a new skill I'm developing I guess. It's still a conscious decision. It boils down to whether the OP on the other end already knows what I mean.

Does this skill get developed to the point of unconscious action? By the time that happens do you make so few mistakes that you don't need the skill any longer?

2. K7KBN

K7KBN Ham Member QRZ Page

Mistake? What's that? ;):D

When I was a novice, I used to send eight dits and start again with the last word I'd sent correctly. This gets tiresome when you've improved your code speed, and I noticed that on some traffic nets, the older, more experienced hams would send ..._. and start with the word they'd made the error on.

This was with full QSK in that everybody had a separate transmitter and receiver. You could hear the other stations in between your own dits if they needed a fill or repeat. Worked fine.

I still use SN, or VE, or IR (..._.) and start with the word I misspelled. Haven't had any complaints.

3. KI6J

KI6J Ham Member QRZ Page

Thanks KBN,

The ? or the SN from the other station sure makes it clear that it is not my copy that is faulty, and I appreciate that. It does get tedious though when the other OP (and NEVER me) are making a lot of mistakes.

I guess the stop making mistakes plan is the best plan.

4. KE5FRF

KE5FRF Ham Member QRZ Page

You will never quit making mistakes. :D