Average Age of CW operators from my log

Discussion in 'Straight Keys - CW Enthusiasts' started by AA4OO, Sep 17, 2015.

ad: L-HROutlet
ad: l-rl
ad: L-MFJ
ad: Left-2
ad: MessiPaoloni-1
ad: Subscribe
ad: K5AB-Elect-1
  1. AA4OO

AA4OO Ham Member QRZ Page

As a new CW operator I find questions concerning CW operators and learning CW interesting. In particular the AGE of CW operators interested me. I just completed my 100th CW QSO as a new operator last weekend.

I took my log and wrote a program to query QRZ database to determine the age of the operators that I had contacts with. QRZ doesn't have the birth date for all operators but it had it for 58 of the 100 contacts.

Here is the summary on CW contact operator ages that I found from my log data:

Average Age: 68
    Min: 35
    Max: 99 (yes, 99 he's a ham in TX)

Only 2 operators were under age 50 (@ 35, 41)
    8 operators were in their 50s and the remainder were 60 or above.

I am in my 50s and just learned the code. I find the average age of 68 pretty indicative that there don't seem to be a lot of young CW operators. However as a comparison to all operators, this number isn't too meaningful without knowing the average age of all licensed hams in the QRZ database. If I knew that then I could make more meaningful comparisons.

Richard
    N4PBQ

2. N2PPK

N2PPK Ham Member QRZ Page

Then when I get on the air at my ripe old age of 28 (realistically closer to 30 when I become more proficient) I'll throw off your math even more.

But fascinating nonetheless.

3. AA4OO

Timothy, I'm looking forward to answering your dah-dit-dah-dit dah-dah-dit-dah

N2PPK likes this.
  4. M0LEP

M0LEP Ham Member QRZ Page

I help with training courses for those wanting to get amateur licences, and I would not be all that surprised if you found that the average age of amateurs was over 60, with relatively few under 40. These days amateur radio seems to be something folk take up when they retire...