ARRL Kids Day

Discussion in 'Youth Forum' started by K7EEX, Nov 27, 2017.

ad: L-HROutlet
ad: l-rl
ad: Subscribe
  1. K7EEX

K7EEX Ham Member QRZ Page

I’m still fairly new to amateur radio but my daughter and I both perked up when I read about the ARRL Kids Day event/contest thing. She is studying for her Tech license but will most likely participate in the event with me under my callsign on the HF bands. It leads to a few questions:
    • Are there lots of stations that participate each year or will we be lucky to find other kid stations?
    • I saw the recommended frequencies. Are there bands that are most popular (like 20m)?
    • Do adults make contacts with the kids or is it a kids-to-kids only event?
    She’s already planning it all out… Mostly what snacks we are going to have.

-Mark K7EEX

KM4SII likes this.
  2. KM4SII

KM4SII Ham Member QRZ Page

Hi Mark!

My name is Mason and I'm 15 years old....

First of all, WELCOME to the hobby (you found a good one ;))! Kids Day is a very fun event and I would be glad to answer your questions:

1. There is usually a pretty good number of stations on the air, but don't expect it to be wall-to-wall either, of course. Some stations are calling CQ (That's what I usually do) and some stations are tuning around look for other kids day stations to call. I usually call CQ since the last two years I have run a big remote contest station out of Texas that really gets out. I am still deciding if I will use the remote or my home QTH in January.

2. Yes, most kids day stations hang out around the recommended frequencies. Most activity, it seems, is on 20m (and some 40m too), but it is worth checking the other bands too. Last year there was a kids day station in Hawaii that operated mostly on 15m. I usually spend most of my time on 20m.