ad: M2Ant-1

APRS

Discussion in 'Working Different Modes' started by KE5KTU, Sep 6, 2010.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
ad: L-HROutlet
ad: l-rl
ad: Left-2
ad: MessiPaoloni-1
ad: Subscribe
ad: Left-3
ad: L-MFJ
  1. KE5KTU

KE5KTU Ham Member QRZ Page

I am new to APRS, and have done some research. It seems the bulk of the research is centered around the developer of APRS and UIview 32(which I have yet to get to work). The question that I have is that if I try to send someone in the APRS net work a message, as long as I am in range of an I gate and they are in range of an I gate will the message get there ? For instance if I am in Mississippi and a friend is in New York, can I send him a message on the APRS network. Also, I see where someone can send me an email using the APRS network via a computer and the internet, what I have not been able to find out is can I send someone an Email via the RF side of APRS ?
    I am looking for answers or a really good place to research APRS that is easy to understand and does not focus on the position reporting side of APRS.
    Thanks, jake

2. G4ILO

G4ILO Ham Member QRZ Page

I wrote an article about APRS on my web page recently. It's really more of an overview for those who don't know what APRS is than a primer for those wanting to get started though. I think the best place to start is probably aprs.net, but I expect you have already found that.

One of the problems with ham radio pages on the net is that a lot of old information never gets updated. A lot of pages talk about UIView but its author died in 2004 and did not leave the source code so it can never be updated and APRS like most other things has evolved. So I would recommend that you look at APRSISCE which you will find in a Yahoo group of that name, which is the current actively being developed APRS client for Windows (and Windows Mobile smartphones.) If you're interested in Linux then look at Xastir which is also actively developed.