A visit to the Polish VP2V DXpedition

Discussion in 'The DX Zone' started by K6TOP, Mar 25, 2014.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
ad: L-HROutlet
ad: l-rl
ad: L-rfparts
ad: Subscribe
ad: l-gcopper
  1. K6TOP

K6TOP Ham Member QRZ Page

The British Virgin Islands (VP2V) are a group dozen or so small Caribbean islands located 100 miles East of
    Puerto Rico. The largest and most populous of the BVIs is Tortola, where the capital of Roadtown is
    located. 20 miles north of Tortola is the island of Anegada, the second largest of the BVIs - and the
    least populated. It is a low, flat coral island, with a population of about 200.

I had an opportunity to visit the Polish DXpedition to Anegada, British Virgin Islands on March 23, while I was
    on a sailing vacation there. The team is currently active until April 1st.

I have been traveling to the BVIs for 20+ years to vacation and sail. I often bring the rig and operate
    as VP2V/K6TOP. in the 2013 ARRL 10M contest, my wife's cousin Robert (W6RWC) and I operated
    from Anegada and made some 2300 QSOs.

Upon learning that I would be on Anegada at the same time as the Polish DXpedition, I emailed Janusz,
    SP9FIH and asked him if I could stop by for a visit and meet the team. Janusz' response was very
    positive. He said that he and several of the team members had worked me both in the contest (as VP2VGG)
    or on one of my many vacations there (as VP2V/K6TOP) and would like to meet me.

On March 23, 2014 I arrived at Anegada anchorage on my 47' sailboat after a 2 hour sail from Virgin
    Gorda. After securing the boat on anchor at Setting Point on the southwest side of the island, I rented a car
    and drove to the Loblolly Beach Cottages on the northeast side of the island.

There I was met by Janusz SP9FIH and Kazik SP6CIK, who proved to be gracious hosts. They have rented 3
    cottages on the sand dunes above the beach. What a great location! The site faces north and overlooks the