ad: k1jek

Portable HF gear in a small footprint

Discussion in 'Amateur Radio News' started by K5QBF, Apr 14, 2021.

ad: L-HROutlet
ad: l-rl
ad: L-MFJ
ad: Left-2
ad: abrind-2
ad: Left-3
ad: Radclub22-2
  1. K5QBF

K5QBF Ham Member QRZ Page

When I upgraded to General, the first thing I started working on was the ability to go portable. I live in an apartment and the noise floor on a daily basis is S7-S8. The first time I experienced an S-0 noise floor I was hooked. Stations that were barely an S2 sounded like they were in the same room with me. So I put together a list of things that might help someone else in my circumstance get out on the air.

KB2QQM, VK3SQ, GM0JDB and 17 others like this.
  2. WM1N

WM1N XML Subscriber QRZ Page

Looks like a good system for field operation. Now that I am officially Retired, hoping try POTA. The spider beam mast looks interesting. Would like to try an endfed halfwave at some point. Currently I have an Alpha ProMaster with Tripod. Have two radios for field use, a Yaesu FT-857D with Bioenno 30 AH Battery and an Icom IC-705. Next I need to look around for some pelican cases.

KD1JT, N3AWS, K5QBF and 1 other person like this.
  3. KG5TON

KG5TON Ham Member QRZ Page

A ham radio YouTube video under 7 minutes long? What is this trickery?

KB2QQM, N4FJC, GM0JDB and 15 others like this.
  4. WB8UBR

WB8UBR Premium Subscriber QRZ Page

Hey Shane, I like the cases you have. Who makes them?
    Thanks for the video.

K5QBF likes this.
  5. KC3PBI

KC3PBI Ham Member QRZ Page

Those look like Pelican 1500 series, I have a few.

6. AE0Q

AE0Q Ham Member QRZ Page

K4MID, AK5B, K0DME and 5 others like this.
  7. W6WR

W6WR Ham Member QRZ Page

Nice video and thanks for making it. Will subscribe and look forward to some more from you in the future. 73.

K5QBF likes this.
  8. K5QBF

They are Apache 3800 from harbor Freight.

AK5B, N3AWS, WB8UBR and 3 others like this.
  9. W5CTL

W5CTL XML Subscriber QRZ Page

AE0Q and K5QBF like this.