ad: Radclub22-1

Icom IC-705, IC-7300 and IC-9700 Waterfall Setup for Weak Signals

Discussion in 'Amateur Radio News' started by VK7HH, Oct 8, 2020.

ad: L-HROutlet
ad: l-rl
ad: L-MFJ
ad: Left-3
ad: Radclub22-2
ad: Left-2
ad: abrind-2
  1. VK7HH

VK7HH Ham Member QRZ Page

In this video, I show the waterfall display options I use on the Icom IC-705 to find weak signal stations. This not only works for the IC-705 but also the IC-7300 and IC-9700. What settings do you use?

VE3WNP, KA8UGB, G1HYD and 23 others like this.
  2. K7GYB

K7GYB XML Subscriber QRZ Page

I have mine set up almost exactly the same. One exception is the peak-hold color. You have black and I've found that a rusty red (R:112 G: 0 B 39) color suits the lime-yellow-green waveform color line (R:167 G:255 B:1) that I have set as I find the "peak hold" color option to be helpful on my Spectrum Scope and with this color combo of secondary colors, it is then not too "busy". I'm a watercolor artist and know that colors that are on the opposite side of the color wheel from each other (known as secondaries to the primary color that you are working with, or mixtures) do not conflict with the eye. This is true when looking for colors - other than black - that will not conflict when wanting to utilize the "waveform color [max hold]" feature. The opposite is true with the historical part of the spectrum scope (some refer to it as the waterfall). You want colors that are going to stand out more so you'd pick colors next to each other on the color wheel, that being one of the other primaries. Unfortunately, you cannot adjust this on the 7xxx series of radios - yet! Perhaps a firmware upgrade will be coming that will allow us to made adjustments to these colors as well. I'd like to be able to adjust the "TX Status indicator"! I really hate the red color being the standby/receive color... why isn't it GREEN? Oh well, I love my 7300 despite the nit-picks. Nice vid. Thanks!

Last edited: Oct 9, 2020