2m/70cm SSB/FT8

Discussion in 'VHF/UHF - 50Mhz and Beyond' started by WB0FTY, Jan 14, 2018.

ad: L-HROutlet
ad: l-rl
ad: l-BCInc
ad: MessiPaoloni-1
ad: l-assoc
ad: L-MFJ
ad: Subscribe
  1. WB0FTY

WB0FTY Ham Member QRZ Page

I have a question about 2 m. I have been using 6 m for SSB, FT8, MSK144, JT65, etc for some time now and when things are popping it is a lot of fun. I have been asked by a few hams mostly on the west and east coast to get on 2m SSB, MSK144 and FT8 because of my grid. I am out here in the midwest plains of Kansas. Pretty flat. Now I can only put a smallish beam antenna up about 34 ft on a pushup pole. I cannot have a tower so I have two push poles I can use. So I have been looking at a Kenwood TS-2000, FT-991A, IC-7100, and FT857D. My question is before I put down $1000 to $1400 dollars for one of those radios and I am new to the VHF realm how much or how often is 2m open enough to make a east coast or west coast contact? Or is that even feasible or worth even thinking about? Thanks for your help.

Bernie

2. K5TRI

K5TRI XML Subscriber QRZ Page

I'd say if by small we're talking somewhere 5 elements and your power would be the 100W the TS-2000 delivers to your 34 ft. high antenna don't bother with either coast.
    Unlikely to happen. You could of course make it a 20'ish element antenna and point it towards the moon. That might get you both coasts :).

TS-2000 used run around $800. Just either stay away from the years that had filter issues or be prepared to replace them. I got mine from a bloke in Denmark for cheap.

3. WB0FTY