220 Mhz

Discussion in 'General Technical Questions and Answers' started by KE5MLF, May 3, 2007.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
ad: L-HROutlet
ad: l-rl
ad: Subscribe
ad: Left-2
ad: K5AB-Elect-1
ad: L-MFJ
ad: Left-3
ad: MessiPaoloni-1
  1. KE5MLF

KE5MLF Ham Member QRZ Page

I am a new tech and was wondering why we lost 220-222? I was given a repeater in that range... There are no repeaters on 1.25 in this area.... I am sure you can see where I am going with this.. Whats your opinion in leaving this repeater operational? I probably would be better starting over... So I really don't know why I am asking this question..

2. KD7MSC

KD7MSC Ham Member QRZ Page

Put it on a 222 -225MHz repeater pair.?

3. KC0W

KC0W Premium Subscriber QRZ Page

We have UPS to thank for this.

Tom kcØw

4. WA9SVD

WA9SVD Ham Member QRZ Page

The 220 MHz band is only an Amateur allocation in ITU Region II, (basically, North and South America.) The FCC decided (was convinced) that 220-222 MHz would be best served in the Land Mobile Service, by a petition of UPS to use ACSSB (Amplitude-Compandered Single Side Band.)
    That system never worked out well for UPS, and has been abandoned.

The only use for the repeater you have is to obtain a frequency pair from your coordination organization, and retune it to an assigned frequency in the 222-225 MHz band. Obviously, it wouldn't be legal (or usable) "as is." The ability to retune may or may not be possible without extensive modification of the filters (typically cavity filters) which have to be very accurately tuned for proper operation.
    If there are few repeaters in your area, there should be little problem in obtaining a coordinated frequency pair. But by the same token, if there are few users interested, the expense of installing and maintaining a repeater may be yours alone. That can be more than you think.
    Good luck.

5. N4CD

N4CD Ham Member QRZ Page