2 element 40m Delta Loop

Discussion in 'Antennas, Feedlines, Towers & Rotors' started by VK4NDX, Apr 19, 2019.

ad: L-HROutlet
ad: l-rl
ad: DLSpec-1
ad: MessiPaoloni-1
ad: L-MFJ
ad: Left-3
ad: Left-2
ad: Subscribe
  1. VK4NDX

VK4NDX Ham Member QRZ Page

Hi,

I have been using MMANA-GAL basic for a couple of months and designed a 2 element 40m delta loop. I scaled a 20m delta loop from the MMANA included antenna files and designed one myself, optimization gave big element / boom difference . If anyone could give some feed back and let me know what you think of the model it would be much appreciated. I will email maa file if interested.

Thanks
    Dave Screenshot (45).png Screenshot (51).png Screenshot (48).png

2. UA3TW

UA3TW Ham Member QRZ Page

Why not to attach it here in zip form?

3. AJ6O

AJ6O Ham Member QRZ Page

Are both loops feed with one 90 degrees out of phase?

4. VK4NDX

Attached is the Zip file. The Delta Loop is feed at the bottom of the driven element @112.5 ohm.

Thanks for response.

Attached Files:

Last edited: Apr 20, 2019
  5. UA3TW

UA3TW Ham Member QRZ Page

Dave, what did i notice - taper wire set is not properly formed. I think you want that your telescoping tubes are thick beneath and thin on top where wires are connected. Such tubes are coded as > because the tubes that have thick middle and thin ends are coded <> (symmetry). Since your tubes are not symmetrical, you have to situate tnem so, that the beginning of the wire (X1Y1Z1) is thick and the end of the wire (X2Y2Z2) is thin. I attach the model.
    I did not tune it.

Attached Files:

6. KE0EYJ

KE0EYJ Ham Member QRZ Page

That would be one massive antenna... you hanging it off of a cliff?

There is a guy out of Costa Rica who blasts into Asia with his. I think he has something like a 6 or 8-el delta loop for 40m. Insane gain, and I believe he did say it's off of a cliff.

7. VK4NDX