ad: M2Ant-1

Force of Two: In Depth stories from 2 Puerto Rico volunteers on HamRadioNow

Discussion in 'Amateur Radio News' started by K4AAQ, Oct 28, 2017.

ad: L-HROutlet
ad: l-rl
ad: L-MFJ
ad: Left-3
ad: Radclub22-2
ad: abrind-2
ad: Left-2
  1. W1YW

W1YW Ham Member QRZ Page

Again, there is no MAYOR of Puerto Rico. If that's what you heard, you should immediately question the veracity of anything that went along with it.

AG6QR and AI7PM like this.
  2. W1YW

W1YW Ham Member QRZ Page

The ARRL is independent of the image that a mere few project. That's what makes it sustainable. Sometimes you have to be patient. :)

73 Chip W1YW

3. W1SRR

W1SRR Platinum Subscriber Platinum Subscriber QRZ Page

First, I want to thank the individuals that deployed to PR and Jeremy and Michael for reporting their experiences. Like many in our hobby, I also volunteered but never heard anything back from the ARC or ARRL. Jeremy and I share many of the same experiences except I am a tech BUT I also am also fluent in Spanish.

As a member of the military, you KNOW about "hurry up and wait" but can use your time boots on the ground to still do things. Leadership should have been assumed by someone other than a 19-year-old. It sounds like there was no real organization or leadership. This sounds like a real soup-sandwich and the ARC, FEMA, and ARRL has dropped the ball. I do not know who was the POC and chose the "team" and it's too late to complain, but there are lessons learned about this deployment and I only hope that the people who dropped the ball are removed from these positions of management and that they are filled with competent individuals.