PDA

View Full Version : Direct Connect to Element -VS- Using a Gamma-Match

mcjim555
11-05-2005, 05:53 PM
Hey there Guys,I have been tinkering with and building antennas for about 6 or 7 years now. I've built both Base and Mobile (mostly base) antennas, from simple Dipoles and Verticles to One five element horizontal Yagi. I have never used a Gamma-Match, I've always just used a split element direct connect on the Yagi and Dipole, because I wasn't sure about tuning the antenna and a little nervous that I wouldn't get it tuned properly. I don't know if it's that I've become more curious or maybe I'm starting to gain some Testicular Fortitude about this subject. So which is better or more efficiant and how hard is it to get a gamma-match set up properly. Thanks Guys and 73. Jim http://www.qrz.com/iB_html/non-cgi/emoticons/biggrin.gif http://www.qrz.com/iB_html/non-cgi/emoticons/rock.gif

KC0NJA
11-05-2005, 06:38 PM
I build direct cut antennas myself.. As far as gamma-match goes I've found the direct cut to be much better.. placing gamma-matchs would reduce the gain on my antenna.. Made antennas for 2 meters and 6 meters Hope this helpes KC0NJA JIM

KE7ENC
11-05-2005, 06:45 PM
My 6 meter beam was built to frequency. I did not need a match to make it work per se. I did make several coax loops (balun) to lower the -j to 7 ohms. I have not built a big frequency range yagi yet. Now a gamma or T match may have doen a better job, I don't know, but what I've done has worked for me.

K9STH
11-05-2005, 08:01 PM
NJA:

A properly constructed gamma match (or "T" match, or omega match, or hairpin match, etc.) is not going to have any effect on the "gain" of your antenna. As for the effective radiated power use of those types of matches over an insulated "split feed" they might even help very slightly.

The gain of the antenna has to do with the physical dimensions (as well as the front-to-back ratio) and has nothing to do with how the driven element is fed.