PDA

View Full Version : Looking to expand HT's use as Mobile/Base

N5TUF
07-27-2005, 05:59 AM
Greetings all,

I'm just getting into radio. I have to admit, I've been licensed for about 14 years...got Tech class when I was about 14, then found other things (girls/cars) to spend my time and money on.

So...now that I'm an old married guy, I've got some time and a little $ to put into a hobby I've always been interested in. I just ordered a VX-5R and am anxiously awaiting it's arrival.

For the time being I see this being the core of my radio setup. I'll be spending a lot of time just listening once I get my radio, but I'd like to get my vehicle setup with at lease an external magmount antenna. Any suggestions there? Will probably spend most time on 2M in the car.

Also, is the antenna that comes with the VX-5R really ideal or should I look at getting a replacement/backup right away?

What about using this HT as a base unit with maybe a 2M amp and a decent 1/2 wave dipole?

I'm probably looking for too much out of a little HT like this, but this is what I have to work with....for now http://www.qrz.com/iB_html/non-cgi/emoticons/smile.gif Thanks for any input on brands/models to look for or suggestions on getting the most out of this little tribander.

I'm pretty green and have some brushing up to do before I go on-air, but I'm excited to get involved in the ham community again.

Eric

KB9IOU
07-27-2005, 06:21 AM
I've used an HT for a base several times with good results... Your best bet is a good antenna.. A 1/2 Wave Dipole is Ok.. but better antennas can be built for similar prices... I highly recommend a copper J-Pole antenna... I've had excellent results out of them.. If you can weld and have access to the equipment, 3/8" solid aluminum rod makes for an excellent J-pole which will last nearly forever... had one over 13 years now http://www.qrz.com/iB_html/non-cgi/emoticons/smile.gif