PDA

View Full Version : Antenna coax

W8AMR
04-13-2005, 07:45 PM
I am new to this and have a few questions. Where I live I have electric services on 3 sides so putting a tower up along side the house is realy out of the question. Not that I couldn't put it up but if mother nature took it down there could be BIG problems. So heres my question how far can I run my coax ,or what lenght of coax can be run between the radios and the antenna. Also if I can go any distance should the coax be buried in the ground in a PVC pipe I wouldn't think running coax in the air would be good for it. Any help would be appreaciated.
Thanks Charlie KD8BHQ http://www.qrz.com/iB_html/non-cgi/emoticons/rock.gif

AI4IJ
04-13-2005, 07:56 PM
Maybe, it would be better to approach this matter from a different direction:

How far would you need the coax to run to get to where you intend to install your antenna(s)? If it's less than 200 ft., there are several options available that will not present big losses. On the otherhand, if the run would need to be 500ft., you will need more expensive, better quality coax, or use balanced feedline, which generally has less loss at HF than coax.

But, yes, you can certainly run coax through buried PVC pipe. And, running it through the air is also fine. You may, however, run into problems if you bury the coax without the PVC pipe, especially in certain soil types.

Richard
AI4IJ

KB1KIX
04-13-2005, 08:06 PM
I agree with Richard totally.

I'd also look at the higher quality coax and look at it's dB loss per 100'. Attenuation for LMR400 is around .9 dB per 100 feet (if I recall correctly) - so, 200 feet of that should be fine - IMHO. Since you're putting up a tower - you can more than make that up in a decent antenna.

hey, I only run 50', but I can't do jack for a tower!!!! ARGHHH, I'd trade positions anytime!

Jonathan

WB2WIK
04-13-2005, 08:36 PM