PDA

View Full Version : 60 meter mod for 706 mkIIg?



AC3G
07-22-2004, 12:10 PM
I want to modify my new (June 2004) Icom 706 mkIIG to cover 60 meters. I've looked at the mods on mods.dk and a few other sites to no avail. Any suggestions?

W7KKK
07-22-2004, 12:31 PM
I would suggest you contact ICOM. They just might tell you how to do it.

KJ3N
07-22-2004, 01:35 PM
You didn't look very hard.

It's the MARS/CAP mod. Also known as the all band TX mod.

There is no 60M mod.


Sometimes I wonder about the intelligence on QRZ.....

AG3Y
07-22-2004, 03:17 PM
Shouldn't you at least wait until the warranty runs out ? #( or has it already ? )

73 from Jim

AC3G
07-24-2004, 02:28 AM
Thanks for the input. From what I can gather from the replies
from here and other forums, the modified 706 doesn't do well on 60
meters due to a bandpass filter problem. Apparently the unit will
overheat. http://www.qrz.com/iB_html/non-cgi/emoticons/confused.gif

W0LPQ
07-24-2004, 02:52 AM
3G: Suggest you ask the QTH.net Icom group. Or, look up AB4OJ, Adam Farson and send him an email.

The 706IIg and 718 will work on 60M. There are no BPF's per se, to burn out. Only with the 746/756 and other series with built in tuner has the real problem.

There are several who have made the mod. I have not, as I do not have a desire for 60M.

73

Bill, WLPQ

KJ3N
07-25-2004, 03:10 AM
</span><table border="0" align="center" width="95%" cellpadding="3" cellspacing="1"><tr><td>Quote (ac3g @ July 23 2004,19:28)</td></tr><tr><td id="QUOTE">Thanks for the input. From what I can gather from the replies
from here and other forums, the modified 706 doesn&#39;t do well on 60 meters due to a bandpass filter problem. Apparently the unit will overheat. http://www.qrz.com/iB_html/non-cgi/emoticons/confused.gif[/QUOTE]<span id='postcolor'>
Bull.

Your information is incorrect. The 706 does just fine on 60M.

As someone else pointed out, it is the 746 &amp; 756 that have issues on 60M.

I&#39;ve modded both and my 746 is working fine on 60M, so I&#39;m not sure just how accurate the info on the 746 &amp; 756 is.

I don&#39;t run more than 35 watts when on 60M, so that may have something to do with it.

ad: giga-rw