PDA

View Full Version : ALS-600 and ARI-500 cables for FT-950



K2WHO
03-27-2012, 11:55 PM
I'm wondering if anyone can point me to a source for pre-made cables to connect an ALS-600 and ARI-500 to my FT-950. I wrote to Ameritron customer service and asked, and they told me I'd have to get a 10-pin cable from Yaesu and build it myself using the diagram in the manual. Is there anyone that offers pre-made cables?

Thanks,
Jon

W4AFB
03-28-2012, 12:08 AM
Will that ARI-500 even work with the ALS-600? I was just looking on the website and it doesn't mention the ALS-600,only the 500.

K2WHO
03-28-2012, 01:11 AM
Yes, it will auto band switch the 500, 600, and 1300.

KO6WB
03-28-2012, 05:22 AM
It looks like you could use the Ameritron RJ-8MY cable. The best advice would be to get the information directly from Ameritron. They suggest calling since they don't always respond to internet e-mail and fax requests.
I'm not sure who at Ameritron responded to you mail inquiry because the description for that cable says it is good for the FT-450, FT-950, FT857 and the FT-897.
http://www.hamradio.com/detail.cfm?pid=H0-010945.
Hope this helps
73
Gary

K2WHO
03-28-2012, 01:35 PM
It looks like you could use the Ameritron RJ-8MY cable. The best advice would be to get the information directly from Ameritron. They suggest calling since they don't always respond to internet e-mail and fax requests.
I'm not sure who at Ameritron responded to you mail inquiry because the description for that cable says it is good for the FT-450, FT-950, FT857 and the FT-897.
http://www.hamradio.com/detail.cfm?pid=H0-010945.
Hope this helps
73
Gary


Yeah, I saw the RJ-8MY, but I wanted to double check with Ameritron. I was surprised that their answer was to build a cable. That's why I was wondering if anyone offered a pre-built cable. Here is my question to Ameritron and their response:

"I have a Yaesu FT-950 and soon I'll be buying an ALS-600 and ARI-500. Can you tell me exactly which cables I'll need to connect both to my FT-950? I'd really appreciate the help."

Answer from John at Ameritron: "You will have to get the ten pin din plug from Yeasu and wire up your own interface cable from the radio to the ARI-500. There is a diagram in the ARI-500 that should be able to give you some help."

KO6WB
03-31-2012, 10:48 AM
Okay, couldn't sleep well so I hopped on the computer and did some real research. Don't know why I just did. The folks at Ameritron are correct. They do not have a cable for the FT-950. There is, however, a cable that can be obtained that is pre-wired for the use with the VL-1000. It's a suitable start on the connectors at the back of the FT-950. You would need to remove the connector that goes to the VL-1000 and wire those into the connector that goes to the ARI-500. The wires in the cable are color coded and that is described in the FT-950 manual. Just match up the wires needed to the connector and you're done.
The cable you need is the CT-118 and it is a hard one to find. I do know that HRO is a likely contact. They list it at; http://www.hamradio.com/detail.cfm?pid=H0-009116. This would save you some work and will get you going in no time.
73
Gary

K2WHO
04-02-2012, 04:19 PM
Thanks for looking that up, Gary. Turns out there's a guy on eBay who can build an all-in-one cable for me. I ended up going that route.

Regards,
Jon

ad: Ham Radio Signs