PDA

View Full Version : Help diagnosing an HTX-100, will not transmit

KK4FZM
03-25-2012, 02:57 AM
As the title states. I need help. I purchased a HTX-100 that is not 100% operable. The unit receives very well but will not transmit. When I key the mic the radio switches to tx but neither power nor swr meters indicate any change. I have tried different meters, jumper wires, antennas, and wired a different mic up (I think correctly) and nothing seems to change. I have opened up the radio and do not see any obvious mods or burnt, blown components.

I'm just a newbie trying to learn.

Thanks

KB4QAA
03-25-2012, 03:03 AM
Have you tried cleaning the Rx/Tx relay contacts?

Wet a dab of contact cleaner or alcohol on a piece of paper and gently draw it thru the contacts, holding them together as needed.

KA9JLM
03-25-2012, 07:17 AM
As the title states. I need help. I purchased a HTX-100 that is not 100% operable. The unit receives very well but will not transmit. When I key the mic the radio switches to tx but neither power nor swr meters indicate any change. I have tried different meters, jumper wires, antennas, and wired a different mic up (I think correctly) and nothing seems to change. I have opened up the radio and do not see any obvious mods or burnt, blown components.

I'm just a newbie trying to learn.

Thanks

Will it put out any power in CW ?

K7MEM
03-25-2012, 12:54 PM
Try putting it in the CW mode and keying it with a key. In the SSB mode there will not be any output until you speak into the microphone. Make sure you are connected to a dummy load, or in a nice quiet area, for the tests.