PDA

View Full Version : What's the best HF Radio?

WS7X
11-09-2003, 02:08 AM
What's the best HF Rig out there? Got me one of them do it all radios, I wont say which one, and now I'm disappointed with its poor operation on HF. So, I'm thinking I want to get a great HF radio since that's where I operate the most. Looking for some suggestions since I've limited experience with all but two rigs in only 15 plus years of hamming.

Thanks
Noel

K3STX
11-09-2003, 02:19 AM
This could get ugly. Your gonna have the Collins crowd chime in, the the modern rigs like FT-1000 will say they blow the Collins and Drakes away, then the Collins and Drake people will say "Naaaahhhh" and on and on and on and on.

The best for WHAT? For CW? For phone? For low bands? It will be interesting. I've been interested in a new rig too, but can't afford the FT-1000 or IC-756ProII.

paul

N7DKK
11-09-2003, 03:15 AM
Just put on the popcorn and hot chocolate…..Waiting in anticipation….. #http://www.qrz.com/iB_html/non-cgi/emoticons/biggrin.gif

wb6bcn
11-09-2003, 03:45 AM
Yep: That is a big one.

The answer is going to be "What do you want for bells and whistles, and how much do you want to spend"

If you are looking for a good basic rig, you can get one for about $500 to $700. If you want the most exotic unit with all the bells and whistles available, then look to spend $5000 +.

Also on the $5000 + rigs, you better have more degrees than a thermometer to be able to understand the manual let alone be able to operate it.

The Icom 706 series seems to be very popular, and can be found for between $500 and $800.

W5ALT
11-09-2003, 03:59 AM
That's like asking which car is best or which brand of beer is best. Personally, my radios are the best, since they are the ones I can use!