WA3LKN
10-24-2011, 02:57 AM
As test, I placed an ad on QRZ.com a few days ago looking for a left handed "Melehan Valiant"
For hams not familiar with this item, it's a very rare and valuable collectable bug. It's about a $3,000 item to a serious collector, and I'm asking for the LEFT handed version, which may not even exist.
Within a day or so after I placed the ad I get the following e-mail through the ARRL e-mail service:
From: m3tfm73 (m3tfm73@zoho.com)
Sent: Sun 10/23/11 12:55 PM
To: WA3LKN@arrl.net
Hello Mate,
How is your day going?
I saw your WTB advert,that's why am sending this mail.
The requested item is up for sale by me.In an excellent condition.
So if you are still looking for it.Send me an email so that we can reach an agreement.
Looking to read back from you soonest.
Thanks
Steve
73
A scammer took the bait and responded! Right off the bat!
The above, of course, has "SCAM" written all over it.
1. He didn't respond through QRZ.com. I never use the ARRL e-mail service.
2. He didn't state the name of the item I was using, indicating this is a stock 'macro' response.
3. I don't have a clue what WTB is. I placed my ad in QRZ.com. Again, the generic response.
4. The domain he used "ZOHO" is well known to be a haven for scammers of all sorts. Search "ZOHO scam" on google and you'll get the idea.
5. I know enough Brits to know this isn't idiomatic British English. This is English as a second language. Notice the punctuation errors.
I didn't want to waste alot of my time playing with the guy so I played dumb but responded:
Steve:
Thanks for the e-mail.
Need pictures, and need to know which version you have and the serial number on it.
73,
WA3LKN
No response, as expected.
There is, actually a British ham M3TFM listed in QRZ.com with a different e-mail address. I notified him I thought he was being impersonated.
The learning benefit of this is, of course:
Be very, very, careful about dealing with anyone who has what you're looking for. As a a rule I would require the reply to be through the QRZ.com website at a minimum, with phone number and lots of actual photos and if anything is the slightest bit fishy, bail.
For hams not familiar with this item, it's a very rare and valuable collectable bug. It's about a $3,000 item to a serious collector, and I'm asking for the LEFT handed version, which may not even exist.
Within a day or so after I placed the ad I get the following e-mail through the ARRL e-mail service:
From: m3tfm73 (m3tfm73@zoho.com)
Sent: Sun 10/23/11 12:55 PM
To: WA3LKN@arrl.net
Hello Mate,
How is your day going?
I saw your WTB advert,that's why am sending this mail.
The requested item is up for sale by me.In an excellent condition.
So if you are still looking for it.Send me an email so that we can reach an agreement.
Looking to read back from you soonest.
Thanks
Steve
73
A scammer took the bait and responded! Right off the bat!
The above, of course, has "SCAM" written all over it.
1. He didn't respond through QRZ.com. I never use the ARRL e-mail service.
2. He didn't state the name of the item I was using, indicating this is a stock 'macro' response.
3. I don't have a clue what WTB is. I placed my ad in QRZ.com. Again, the generic response.
4. The domain he used "ZOHO" is well known to be a haven for scammers of all sorts. Search "ZOHO scam" on google and you'll get the idea.
5. I know enough Brits to know this isn't idiomatic British English. This is English as a second language. Notice the punctuation errors.
I didn't want to waste alot of my time playing with the guy so I played dumb but responded:
Steve:
Thanks for the e-mail.
Need pictures, and need to know which version you have and the serial number on it.
73,
WA3LKN
No response, as expected.
There is, actually a British ham M3TFM listed in QRZ.com with a different e-mail address. I notified him I thought he was being impersonated.
The learning benefit of this is, of course:
Be very, very, careful about dealing with anyone who has what you're looking for. As a a rule I would require the reply to be through the QRZ.com website at a minimum, with phone number and lots of actual photos and if anything is the slightest bit fishy, bail.
